CARRON AND RAMSBOTTOM TEAM TO WIN THE FLORIDA STATE NET TWO-MAN TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP

AUGUST 31, 1998

TARPON SPRINGS, Fla. — Mark Carron and Craig Ramsbottom, both of Tampa, teamed to win the inaugural Florida State Net Two-Man Team Championship Sunday at The Westin Innisbrook Resort in Tarpon Springs. Rick Long of Auburndale and David Norka of Frostproof finished two strokes back in second place.

The championship started with 18 holes of modified alternate shot net stroke play on Saturday, August 29 on the Eagles' Watch course, Long and Norka jumped out to the early lead with a gross score of 62. Robert Meador (Miami Lakes) and Dave Peterson (Miami), as well as Scott Phillips (Miami) and Phillip Hudson (Miami Beach), fired a 65 for a second-place tie. Carron and Ramsbottom stood in a sixthplace tie with three other teams at 68.

The final round was four-ball net stroke play on the Copperhead course. Carron and Ramsbottom combined for a 61 to vault them into the lead with a 15-under, 129 total. Long and Norka shot a 69 for a 131 total. Meador and Peterson dropped to ninth with a 71, while Phillips and Hudson finished tied for 13th with a final-day 73.

FLORIDA STATE NET TWO MAN TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP Westin Innisbrook Resort August 30-31, 1998

129 - Mark Carron, Tampa, Craig Ramsbottom, Tampa

131 - Rick Long, Auburndale, David Norka, Frostproof

133 - Tom Hendrick, Inverness, Steve Roth, Interness

134 - Ned Hogan, Vero Beach, Chet Hogan, Vero Beach

- 134 John Gay, Orlando, Jeffrey Schwaber, Maitland
- 135 Ron Dye, Tallahassee, Brent Smith, Port Orange

135 - Bruce Beisler, Palm City, Doug Koennicke, Jupiter

- 135 Paul Newman, Oldsmar, Steve Nagel, Tarpon Springs
- 136 Robert Meador, Miami Lakes, Dave Peterson, Miami

137 - Gary Meadors, Jacksonville, Roy Paxon, Jacksonville

137 - James Dowling, Hobe Sound, Joseph Underwood, Stuart

- 137 Gardon O'Neil, Aventura, Lars Janson, South Miami
- 138 Rick Anderson, Clearwater, Marty Bennett, Clearwater
- 138 John Satterfield, St. Petersburg, David Matheny, St. Petersburg
- 138 Scott Phillips, Miami, Philip Hudson, Miami Beach
- 140 Sam Baptiste, Melbourne, Steven Chandler, Rockledge
- 140 Ronald Dickey, Valrico, Terry Tavrell, Valrico
- 141 Moot Thomas, Ocala, John Jennings, Ocala
- 141 John Tagliarino, Tampa, Mike Pupello, Tampa
- 142 Alex McConnell, Debary, Alexander McConnell, Ponte Vedra
- 142 Ray Parlade, Daytona, Ted Holcomb, Smyrna Beach

- 143 Andy Johnson, Lakeland, Charles Urbinek, Tampa
- 143 John Hall, Sarasota, Robert Briggs, Sarasota
- 143 Roderick Stewart, Venice, Hal Loud, Venice
- 144 Kevin Davey, Tallahassee, Jack Powis Jr., Tallahassee
- 144 Cap Caponi, Orlando, Tom Bailey, Germantown
- 145 John Hewlin, Bradenton, Drew Dolison, Bradenton
- 145 Timothy Hill, Winter Haven, Dwight Richert, Winter Haven
- 146 John Gunn, Valrico, Larry Gunn, Boca Raton
- 146 Jack Alford, Lakeland, AJ Alford, Orlando
- 147 Buck Bundhund, Ormond Beach, John Olive, Holly Hill
- 148 Robert Forlizzo, Clearwater, Robert Powers, St. Petersburg
- 148 Rick Huybers, Orlando, Joseph Donnelly, Tampa
- 157 Michael Vercelli, Sarasota, Gerry Stellwagen, Nokomis